Amateur Advice: How I Manage my Personal Brand

I have a confession. Before I created my public online presence, I creeped. I read some blogs and kept my eye some twitter feeds. I looked at some facebook pages. I came to the realization that I would not buy a vast majority of these author’s books. I came up with the things that made such a negative impression on me and immediately began working on ways to avoid making those same mistakes.

Note that this post is a bit longer than my Personal Blogging Rules mandate. Forgive the rule-bending.

Now. The things that make a negative impression on me.

1) “Selling” me. I really dislike it when the last 5 twitter updates are all “Buy my book” posts. It reminds me of walking down the street and being handed a leaflet. I don’t even look at it. I put it in the next garbage bin I pass.

2) Writing in the third person. Jeremy D Powell does not like this. He thinks it has the bitter taste of self-importance. He also thinks it is a bit deceptive and manipulative.

3) Borrowing someone else’s work/credibility. This one really bothers me. Its the post that basically frames someone else’s blog post. The blogger will have an intro. Then they post the entirety of someone else’s post. This is cheating, plain and simple.

These are the big 3 sins for me in an online presence. In order to avoid these things and create a positive personal brand, I try to do the following.

1) Provide content rather than advertisements. Readers are usually picky. They are investing their time and money in the books that they read. I think that it is a much better strategy to let potential readers get to know my voice through my online presence than yell, “I HAS A BOOK!” I try to keep that in mind when I write my posts. When I have something of substance to sell, I will create an optionally viewable page on this blog. If I have been successful in building a personal brand, that will be enough.

2) Always write in first person. I hate feeling snooty, so I avoid the third person. I also think that my position doesn’t lend itself to mandating action on my reader’s part, so I avoid the second person.

3) My work is always my own. If I like someone else’s post, there is usually a handy share button that I can use. This drives readers to their site where even more goodies are in store for them. This builds the goodwill of both the original author and the reader towards me. I become collaborative instead of predatory.

In the end, the rules come down to that one Golden Rule. I will do unto others what I would have them do unto me. The things I dislike, I will not replicate.

–Jeremy

Do you agree? Disagree? Chime in! I love to consider your coments. I have been wrong a time or two.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Jeremy D Powell

I am a husband and father, writer and thinker. By nature, I tend to be introverted. I am attempting to nurture my inner extrovert. It's going OK.

2 responses to “Amateur Advice: How I Manage my Personal Brand”

  1. Michelle Proulx says :

    I would say that #1 is okay, as long as it’s done sparingly. For example, when you’ve just released a book, tweeting about it every few days for the first few weeks to remind people is fine. But if all you do, every day, is spam, “buy my book!”, then yeah, that gets really annoying 😀

Leave a Reply

